Recap: Neuromuscular Plasticity Symposium

On Friday, March 19, the Department of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation Science PhD Program hosted its first virtual Neuromuscular Plasticity Symposium on ForagerOne, an online symposium program.

Over 230 guests tuned in to learn from Drs. Monica Perez, Henriette van Praag and Rachelle Crosbie as they shared their research on rehabilitation science.

Photo of the keynote speakers from the Neuromuscular Plasticity Symposium

The virtual poster session, which arranged 56 presenters, generated fantastic engagement within the online program. Throughout the poster session, attendees viewed presenters’ research nearly 8,000 times, and entered a total of 844 comments on their posters.

To round out the symposium, eight graduate students and two post-doctoral students received the Neuromuscular Plasticity Symposium Research Award of $400 to fund their research.

Graduate student poster winners:

  • Chandler Callaway, poster titled, “CXCR2 Signaling is Causative in Pancreatic Cancer-Induced Cachexia” Mentor: Dr. Andy Judge
  • Gerard Robinson, poster title, “Is skeletal muscle a functional pathogen-sensing organ? A murine model of polymicrobial sepsis.” Mentor: Dr. Tom Clanton
  • Alessandra Norris, poster title, “The role of the Hedgehog pathway in restricting fatty fibrosis” Mentor: Dr. Daniel Kopinke
  • Ela Sajjadi, poster title, “Complex Differential Recruitment Patterns of Accessory Respiratory Muscles Prevent Respiratory Compromise in ALS Patients” Mentor: Dr. Gordon Mitchell
  • Sumire Sato, poster title, “Modulation of corticospinal drive during locomotor adaptation is task-specific” Mentor: Dr. Julia Choi
  • Yoon Jin Choi, poster title, “Deep brain stimulation reduces midline tremor while walking and improves gait unsteadiness in Essential Tremor” Mentor: Dr. Evangelous Christou
  • Emanuel Boutzoukas, poster title, “Frontal Cerebral Metabolite Change in Older Adults with Intermittent Hypoxia and Cognitive Training” Mentor: Dr. Adam Woods
  • Ravi Kumar, poster title, “Impaired skeletal muscle mitochondrial glutathione transport and antioxidant treatment in rat and cell culture model of postmenopausal HFpEF” Mentor: Dr. Leonardo Ferreira

Post-doctoral poster winners:

  • Dr. Sabhya Rana, poster title, “Low Dose Ampakine Stimulates Diaphragm Activity and Increases Tidal Volume following Cervical Spinal Cord Injury in Non-Anesthetized Freely Behaving Rats” Mentor: Dr. David Fuller
  • Dr. Andrew D’Lugos, poster title, “Tumor-derived CTGF mediates pancreatic cancer cachexia” Mentors: Drs. Andy and Sarah Judge