RSD students, alumni receive awards at Dysphagia Research Society Annual Meeting

Photo of Justine Allen
Justine Allen, MS, CCC-SLP

Rehabilitation Science student Justine Allen MS, CCC-SLP, received the first place best poster at the Dysphagia Research Society Annual Meeting that was held back in March. Her poster was titled, “Utility of the 3-Ounce Water Test to Detect Aspiration in Cardiac Surgical Patients.” Justine also received a Springer Publishing Junior Investigator Travel Grant for her work.

Additionally, RSD alumnae Lauren Tabor-Gray, PhD, CCC-SLP, and Alicia Vose, PhD, CCC-SLP, received awards at the Dysphagia Research Society Annual Meeting.

photo of Dr. Alicia Vose
Dr. Alicia Vose

Former Neuromuscular Plasticity T32 trainee and current postdoctoral fellow, Dr. Vose was awarded the prestigious Sumiko Okada International Fellowship from the Dysphagia Research Society for her work “The Role of Anticipatory Postural Adjustments in Swallowing Airway Protection Accuracy.” This research grant honors Sumiko Okada, a Japanese speech pathologist, who contributed to the field of dysphagia with her publications and yearly presentations and posters at DRS Annual Meetings. Dr. Vose will present her research findings in an oral presentation during the Japanese-Korean Joint Swallowing Conference and the meeting of the Japanese Society of Dysphagia Rehabilitation. 

Photo of Dr. Lauren Tabor-Gray
Dr. Lauren Tabor-Gray

Dr. Tabor-Gray, who was also a former Neuromuscular Plasticity T32 trainee and is currently co-director of the Phil Smith ALS Clinic and Clinical Research Center at Holy Cross Hospital.

Dr. Tabor-Gray received the Steven B. Leder Award for her work, “Concordant Validity of a Digital Peak Cough Flow Meter to Assess Voluntary Cough Strength in Individuals.” The Steven B. Leder Award was created by the Dysphagia Research Society (DRS) to highlight clinically relevant research. This award honors Steve Leder, a prolific evidence-based clinical researcher, a dedicated clinician, and past-president of the DRS.